Bihar cabinet expansion Eight JDU leaders take oath as ministers in Nitish

first_imgBihar: Eight JDU leaders took oath as ministers in Nitish Kumar’s government as part of cabinet expansion Sunday. Those who took oath as ministers today include Ashok Choudhary, Shyam Rajak, L Prasad, Beema Bharti, Ram Sevak Singh, Sanjay Jha, Neeraj Kumar and Narendra Narayan Yadav. Ahead of the expansion, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar had met Governor Lalji Tandon earlier in the day and handed over the names of leaders who would take oath as the council of ministers in the Bihar government. Also Read – Dussehra with a ‘green’ twist The JD(U) on Thursday decided to not be a part of Narendra Modi’s new cabinet, saying it would not accept the BJP’s offer of only one ministerial berth. “They (BJP) wanted only one person from JD(U) in the cabinet, so it would have been just symbolic participation. We informed them that we do not need it (Cabinet berth),” Kumar had said. The JD(U) chief, who later attended Modi’s swearing-in ceremony, said, “It is not a big issue. We are fully in the NDA and not upset at all. We are working together. There is no confusion.” In the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections, JD(U) won 16 seats in Bihar, while BJP bagged 17.Despite being a part of the NDA, the party was also not part of the last central government. The BJP, however, is sharing power in the Bihar government with its leader Sushil Kumar Modi.(With inputs from DNA)last_img read more