Chittorgarh set to host National Junior Wrestling Championship

first_img(Eds: Adding a missing word in headline) Chittorgarh, Sep 27 (PTI) Big-time wrestling is coming to the fort city for the first time as the Tata Motors Junior National Wrestling Championships (U-23) gets underway here from Friday. The Under-23 championship, which will see participation of 633 wrestlers from 24 states, is also the first of its kind added to the Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) calendar with a view to scout more talent and encourage young wrestlers to the sport. WFI, which allotted the tournament to Chittorgarh, said it will help Rajasthan unearth new talent from the state. Rajasthan, which hosted the Senior Nationals way back in 2008, also played hosts to Junior National earlier this year in February at Jaipur. Talking on the choice of Chittorgarh, Brij Bhushan Saran, President of the Wrestling Federation of India said that Rajasthan has the potential to present more wrestlers to the country. “Our interiors, especially bordering Haryana, has immense talent. We need to tap and bring them to the fore. Besides, in smaller cities hosting an event of this size will generate a lot of interests,” he said. “It will also encourage more youngsters taking to the sport in the near future,” he added. PTI AHAHlast_img read more

Uday Deshpande, Smriti Mandhana among Maharashtra sports award winners

first_imgThe Maharashtra government has bestowed the ‘Shiv Chhatrapati Lifetime Achievement Award’ on mallakhamb coach Uday Deshpande for 2017-18.An announcement to this effect was made by the state Sports Minister Vinod Tawde at a media conference here where he also declared the other award winners.”The (Shiv Chhatrapati) lifetime achievement award is being conferred upon Uday Deshpande of Samarth Vyayam Mandir, who has dedicated his life for mallakhamb,” Tawde said.Deshpande has been promoting and coaching mallakhamb, a traditional Indian sport dating back to the 12th century where the practitioner performs gymnastic and yoga postures with wrestling grips on an erect pole or a suspended rope, at the ‘Samarth Vyayam Mandir’ at Shivaji Park in Central Mumbai.The names of the Shiv Chhatrapati award winners in the players’ category also include Indian women’s cricket team member Smriti Mandhana, who hails from Sangli in western Maharashtra.Tawde also announced that these awards will be given away at the iconic ‘Gateway of India’ on February 17 during a glittering ceremony.Among the other award recipients are hockey player Suraj Karkera, paddler Sanil Shetty, track and field athlete Siddhant Thingaliya, who specialises in 110 metres hurdles, runner Monika Athare and squash player Mahesh Mangaonkar.The sports minister also announced that Satara’s mountaineer Priyanka Mohite, who has scaled the Mt Everest and the Mt Lhotse among other peaks, will be awarded the ‘Shiv Chhatrapati Award for Adventure’.The state government will also be giving ‘Eklavya State Awards’ for physically handicapped players and ‘Shiv Chhatrapati’ awards for associations and coaches.advertisementAlso Read | Indian junior table tennis players end Bahrain Open with 12 medalsAlso Read | Former India wrestler Jagdish Bhola convicted by CBI in drugs caselast_img read more